Foods to Check

Checking foods

  1. Certain foods may need to be checked to ensure that they are free of gluten, particularly some processed and packaged foods, including:
  2. Soups, sauces, soy sauce, salad dressings, mayonnaise, deli meats, processed cheese, ready meals, fizzy drinks, chips, sausages, baked beans, ice cream, frozen burgers, flavoured teas, sweets and chocolates.

Are oats gluten free?

  1. The main reason for coeliacs to avoid oats and oat-containing products is that oats are commonly contaminated with wheat/ rye/barley during production and processing.  It is believed that the majority of coeliacs are able to tolerate uncontaminated pure oats.
  2. Uncontaminated oats are available in supermarkets but ensure they are marked as ‘gluten free’ and have therefore been tested to ensure they contain less than 20 ppm of gluten before consuming. This is not the same as a label marked ‘100% oats’.
  3. Gluten-free oats can be included in a gluten-free diet at any stage, however, if you experience ongoing symptoms or have any concerns you should consult a healthcare professional for specific advice. A small number of people with coeliac disease may still react to uncontaminated (gluten free) oats.
How to check food labels
© 2020. Glutafin. Dr. Schär UK Ltd. 401 Faraday Street, Birchwood Park, Warrington, WA3 6GA