Crackers - Glutafin
Bread Rolls
Bulldog Clip

Gluten containing foods to eliminate

Foods that must be eliminated completely include all those containing derivatives of wheat, rye and barley. Bread, cakes, biscuits, crackers, pastry, pasta and breakfast cereals made from wheat/rye/barley should all be eliminated from your diet or exchanged for gluten free versions such as these Glutafin products. All breaded and battered fish, and meat such as fish fingers and chicken nuggets should be avoided too.

Drinks such as barley water, beer, lager and stout are all made from barley so should also be avoided.

What about barley malt vinegar?

barley malt vinegar

Malt vinegar can be made from barley which is a gluten-containing cereal and therefore its presence in any form within a product will be clearly labelled within the ingredients list (in bold). However, Coeliac UK recommend that this product is safe to consume since the fermentation process ensures that the gluten is removed to a level which is safe for people with coeliac disease.

A number of foods and drinks are made from or include barley or malted barley; e.g malted milk drinks (Horlicks), barley water/ barley fruit drinks and beers. These are all unsuitable for a gluten free diet. However, some products use a substance known as barley malt extract as a flavour enhancer (e.g some breakfast cereals, sauces, pickles chocolate and ready meals).  In addition, other products use such tiny amounts of barley malt extract that the end product is safe to consume (ie contains less than 20 ppm. We suggest you refer to the Coeliac UK food and drink directory if you would like to eat a product that contains barley malt extract but are unsure on the amount used.

You can also check our helpful gluten free foods checklist here

Read about cross contamination here

tomatoes - Glutafin
Back to Top