Victoria Sponge - Glutafin
Home Made Bread
Bulldog Clip

Foods to check

Foods to check


Certain foods may need to be checked to ensure that they are free of gluten, particularly some processed and packaged foods, including: soups, sauces, soy sauce, salad dressings, mayonnaise, deli meats, processed cheese, ready meals, fizzy drinks, chips, sausages, baked beans, ice cream, frozen burgers, flavoured teas, sweets and chocolates.  


Are oats gluten free?

The main reason for coeliacs to avoid oats and oat-containing products is that oats are commonly contaminated with wheat/ rye/barley during production and processing.  It is believed that the majority of coeliacs are able to tolerate uncontaminated pure oats.

Uncontaminated oats are available in supermarkets but ensure they are marked as ‘gluten free’ and have therefore been tested to ensure they contain less than 20 ppm of gluten before consuming. This is not the same as a label marked ‘100% oats’.

A small number of people with coeliac disease may still react to uncontaminated (gluten free) oats so always seek advice from your dietitian before introducing them to your diet.

See our How to check food labels section for help with this


Read about gluten containing foods to eliminate here

Eggs - Glutafin
Back to Top