Sausage Rolls - Glutafin Pasta
Bulldog Clip

Is Guinness Gluten Free?

Date: Monday 20th February 2017

                           

The question on every coeliacs mind as we dive into the St. Paddy’s Day celebrations on Friday 17th March, is Guinness gluten free?

Unfortunately, like most beers and ales – Guinness is not gluten free. It is brewed from barley, which is also roasted to give it its famous dark colour. Barley contains ‘gliadin’, a component found in gluten, which triggers inflammation in the small intestines.

So, what are your options? Wine, spirits, ciders and liquors can all be consumed as part of a gluten free diet, which means these may become your tipple of choice. However, do be careful to avoid cross contamination when ordering a mixer or spritz. Soda pumps can often be dipped into beers to create a shandy, so be sure to ask for bottled.

If these drinks really aren’t for you, there are a range of speciality gluten free beers which are all listed in the coeliac uk directory 2017. Although there is no gluten free Guinness alternative, there are some dark ales which may spike your interest.

Please drink responsibly,

The Glutafin Team.

 

Your Comments

There are no comments for this article at the moment. To add a comment join or log in and then add your comment.

Herbs - Glutafin
Back to Top